The order in Which Line 1 stations opened

Métro Line 1, one of the oldest and most famous lines of the metro system, was inaugurated in 1900 during the Exposition Universelle (World Fair). This line originally connected Porte de Vincennes to Porte Maillot.

The stations were opened in the following order:

  1. Porte de Vincennes to Nation – 19 July 1900
  2. Nation to Gare de Lyon – 6 August 1900
  3. Gare de Lyon to Porte Maillot – 1 September 1900
  4. Porte Maillot to Grande Arche (extension, not part of the original line) – 1 April 1992

The initial segment in 1900 comprised 8 stations, and the entire original line consisted of 18 stations. The line has since been extended, and some stations have undergone renovations and name changes.

However, it’s essential to note that while the line was inaugurated in sections, the exact order of individual station openings within these segments might not be as widely documented. For detailed historical records or specifics about individual station inaugurations, one might need to refer to archives or specialized literature on the Paris Métro’s history.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *